Back To School

I’ve been back in Oakland for over a week now, and it’s been nothing short of a whirlwind ever since RA training has started. With that being said, I’ve decorated the heck out of my room and my floor! Anybody who knows me should know that I absolutely love lame jokes and comedyEverybody has a thing. Shopping for bath bombs. Drinking Starbucks. Chewing gum. Kayaking. Tennis. School. Mine just happens to be dry humor– that’s what she said jokes, awkwardness, dumb ingeniousness. That’s my thing, and that includes (but is not limited to) Nacho Libre, Napoleon Dynamite, Parks & Rec…. Laugh with me, and you’ll know the way to my heart! So naturally, the theme of Dunn 4th Floor is none other than my beloved *drumroll*…. The Office! Which shouldn’t be a surprise at all. I mean, c’mon. Here are a few of my decorations!



Oh and my own “World’s Best Boss” mug…. totally necessary.

And like I’ve mentioned in my DIY post, I’m going for a very minimal look this year for my room. Since I’m not used to having my own room, much less my own bathroom (honestly I feel like royalty… who am I?!), I’m still adjusting to having this big space all to myself.

There are so many things that I’m looking forward to doing– setting up my TV, cracking down on my writer’s block and getting my poetry sorted out, reading a couple new books that I have, writing more insightful blog posts– but unfortunately, I’ve been so darn busy with training that the little time that I get to have to myself goes straight to laying in bed with my Netflix on. I’ve also been SO TERRIBLE with responding to text messages or being on social media. I literally respond at midnight everyday and I’ve been on instagram probably for a total of five minutes in the past one and a half weeks. To be honest, it actually feels liberating to forget about the existence of my phone. The way I see it, that’s when you know you’re having a good time. But once training ends, I’m going to make it a point to get myself together and settle down. Respond to people in a timely manner. Check things off of my list. Do extraordinary things in my free time. But for now, I’m enjoying everything that I’m learning, and I’m happy to say that I already love every single one of my RA staff! It’s going to be a great year. I can feel it. I’m so excited. Let’s get this show on the road!

One thought on “Back To School

Leave a Reply

