I Want My Own Fred Astaire

It’s been one week since I went to the San Cisco concert, and my mind is still floating on cloud nine from the euphoria of the whole experience. It all started a year ago when YouTube recommended Bright Eyes to me after binge-listening to my favorite band, The Lumineers. Similarly, some weeks ago when I was hooked on Bright Eyes, YouTube automatically played another video without me noticing… and all of a sudden, I was listening to one of the coolest tunes that I’ve heard in a long time, and I looked at the screen and saw that the video was of a playlist of some band called San Cisco– immediately, I was confused because everybody and anybody KNOWS my love for San Francisco. Basically, I was thinking, “Hold up… this amazing music is being played by a band with a very similar name to my favorite city in the world?” For some reason, I felt like it was some kind of fate-inspired coincidence that led me to discover San Cisco, and from that moment, I was hooked and listened to their albums nonstop. Luckily, I found out that they were having a concert in LA a few days before, and after a mad scramble for sold-out tickets on Craigslist and finding a friend who would go with me, I was all set and ready to go!

I am so thankful that my awesome friend and one of my role models, Isamar, joined me on my quest to go to my first concert ever! Since she has had plenty of experiences with concerts, she helped guide me, calm me down, pump me up, and made it just a whole lot better. Words can’t even describe the whole atmosphere of the concert… the apprehension of the curtains unveiling, the shock of actually seeing one of my favorite musicians in person, the electrifying energy of knowing the lyrics to the songs and jumping up and down to the beat, the despair after their last song, and then the disbelief that the whole night happened. It was absolutely insane. I knew that pictures and videos wouldn’t have done it any justice, either, so that’s why I barely pulled out my phone during the concert just so I could just take it all in…. absorb the moment firsthand, not through the screen of my smartphone. And as much as I wanted to record the encore song, “Fred Astaire,” which is my favorite song ever, I couldn’t do that to myself and miss out on the most exhilarating, phenomenal performance of all time. Plus, Jordi (the lead singer of this young Aussie band) said, “If you don’t know all the lyrics to this, just dance as hard as you can” –I did both! Danced my pants off and lost my voice as I shamelessly belted out the lyrics as if I was singing to save my life.

Suffice it to say that if I never have another opportunity to go to a concert, I would still be extremely satisfied. How lucky was I that I got to see one of my favorites for my first time, and by sheer luck of googling whether they were on tour?! It literally felt like I was at Disneyland, like my own version of it, but even better because they played ALL of my favorite songs and Izzy and I were at the best spots possible: a platform above everybody else (perfect, because we’re short), leaning against a railing so we wouldn’t get too tired, and away from the drunken, squished-up pit of sweaty people. It couldn’t have been more perfect.

The concert sparks up a nostalgic feeling that I get when I think about roaming through the streets of San Francisco. I think it has something to do with the crazy reality that I was there, and if you asked me a year ago, I couldn’t have told you that I’d be doing the things that I do now. It really does freak me out that their names are so similar; but anyway, after Dabbie and I came back from our SF trip last summer, I remember feeling this overpowering desire to go back. I missed it so much that I would constantly count back and say, “just three days ago, we were at Sutro Baths and the waves sounded like they were coming after us…. just a month ago, we walked all the way to the top of Lombard street from Union Square…” and so on. And the same feeling applies now: just a week ago, I was there in El Rey, having the absolute time of my life. I notice that I repeat over and over that I had the best night ever, and I think that’s why I am so in love with my life– I get to have these moments that seem to top the previous best night ever, and it’s a continuous elevation to living a full, joyous life. I am definitely glad that I have something to look back at and miss, because it means that I’ve exceeded my own expectations.

I know that it might seem like it’s just a concert, but to me it signifies how my dreams really can become a reality. I had a vision to see this wonderful band, and it happened! It all solidifies my mission to go out on a limb and do what it takes to live out my dreams, whether it means travelling the world chasing concerts, or publishing my own book of poetry, or taking leaps of faith to meet new people from all over (and hopefully, I’ll stumble upon somebody who shares a love for indie-folk-rock-etc). Life can be made as beautiful as we want it to be; we just have to believe in our capabilities to make things happen.

Leave a Reply

