Easter Vigil

IMG_3527

Short reflection of my Lent: I learned to slow life down and just revel in the moment a lot more. I’m a person that likes to get things done in sequence, but I’ve gotten to a point where I’ve improved my patience tremendously. I had struggles with cursing and eating sweets, and truthfully I will probably continue on cursing just because I do believe that it is a form of self-expression and I’m all about that. But I think a lot of blessings came upon me this Lent and I’m just a happier, more secure person in general and I am confident that I’m slowly becoming the woman that I strive to be.

Tonight, Allie and I went with Father Sal and Sinai to St. Perpetua Catholic Church to ring in Easter– and boy, was it an incredibly long (but beautiful) procession! Up until this year, I had no idea how big of a deal Easter actually is. I never thought that it was the most important holiday of Catholicism, but it all makes sense to me now that I’ve learned more about it from my Confirmation classes. But anyway, it was really neat because we started the mass without any lights except for the candles that we walked in with. It reminded me a lot of our last mass of last semester, “Liturgy of Lights” and we did just that! A couple of people were also baptized and confirmed tonight, and I couldn’t suppress how happy I was for them! You could tell that since they were older, they chose to do it themselves and I’m sure they were beyond grateful for their decisions. I think it’s so great when people decide to take the next step in their faith, or any steps in their faith, for that matter. I’ll have my own Confirmation two weeks from today!

I’ve been thinking about my own faith after a conversation that I had with somebody today. Anybody who initially becomes acquainted with me will know how involved I am with church, and thus prompting a big fat label of a “goody two-shoes” on my forehead. However, I kind of resent that generalization because I don’t go to church because I want to be a good Catholic– I go because learning about my faith is something that I genuinely like to do. It’s crazy how much I’ve transformed from a person that used to hate going every Sunday with my family and thought of it as the biggest drag during my elementary school days, and now to someone that finds pure enjoyment in being inside a church, even when there’s no mass. Another big reason why I attend mass and am so involved in my faith is because I’m eternally grateful for everything that I’ve been blessed with, and I’m sure that I make that as clear as day in everything that I post on social media or in my writings. I go to give thanks for letting me live life on my own pace.

However, with all that being said, that doesn’t mean that I don’t like to have fun, let loose, and do stupid, normal things like people my age do. Being a frequent church-goer doesn’t prevent me from going through all of life’s trials and errors and discovering boundaries for myself. I like to think of my “physical” life as a classroom where I learn everything there is to know about life by experiencing good and bad things firsthand. If I fall, I fall. Meanwhile, my spiritual relationship is my own, separate connection with God that I like to keep to myself… and it just works out better that way.

On another note, I am incredibly excited to announce that the HNU Women’s Tennis Team officially qualified for the PacWest conference championships after we beat Cal State Stanislaus today! It’s crazy because only the top eight teams get to go, and we clinched the last spot as the only team that doesn’t even have a national ranking! It’s such an awesome experience to be able to say– hey, we’re the best team that HNU has ever had by a milestone (eleven consecutive wins!) and nobody, not even ourselves, saw it coming. I’m definitely loving this Cinderalla story that we’re writing and I’m stoked to travel to Arizona!!

Leave a Reply

