Couple-watching

“On our last run-of-the-mill date night (dinner at a local pizza joint), my husband got a little creative by bringing along a book called The Art of Kissing: Book of Questions and Answers. We had a laugh reading about unusual kissing styles (like the ‘electric kiss,’ which is done by rubbing your feet back and forth on a carpet before you touch lips) over dinner, and then had a sexy night trying them out once we got back home.”

My coworkers and I would always complain about the lack of cute, single male customers in our restaurant. This was always a mystery to me— Pieology seems like a cool, hip place where young, cool, hip, and potentially single people would dine in (an exciting prospect to an equally young, cool, hip, and single person as myself)—until I sat down during my break today and absorbed the whole scene of the dining area. I was aware that many couples do come in, create a pizza together, act cute together which either make me mentally gag or say “awww…”, but little did I know how many couples our restaurant really attracted! It was basically a hot spot for blind dates or “Fridates” or for whatever occasion in which they thought pizza was the appropriate language for romance (although we do have the occasional family with wild hooligans that only eat a quarter of their cheese pizza). As I looked to my right, I secretly observed a young woman describing her job and educational goals to a young man who nodded his head every 2 seconds followed by an “uh huh, uh huh.” Looking straight ahead, an elderly couple sat side by side and was immersed in conversation as they looked at each others’ faces. Over at the to-go chairs, a boyfriend was cradling his girlfriend on his lap— a little risqué in a family-inhibited setting, but kudos to them for being able to show the world their passion.

Although my only company were baby carrots and hummus, my usual feeling of sadness (as a result of a mixture of loneliness with a hint of envy) when I see couples gave way to a sensation of hope. As silly as it sounds, I forget that I’m only twenty years young and I panic at the thought that I will never meet anybody. It scares me to think about not being able to share my heart equally with someone else. However, seeing all these couples of different kinds and ages give me so much hope that someday, I’ll have that too. Someday, I’ll share a pizza with someone who actually wants to get to know who I am even if I’ve got sauce on my face. I wish there was a way of knowing who that special person will be, and at what point he will walk into my life. I’m tired of opening up the deepest chambers of my atria and revealing my little secrets and sharing my skin and giving my fingerprints to someone who will just walk away… it’s exhausting in every sense. But where’s the thrill in that? Falling in love (whatever “love” is) is an unexpected, surprising phenomenon and the beauty of it lies in the mystery of its occurrence. Presents are most fun when we don’t know what’s in the box, and much more when we didn’t expect one at all, right? If falling in love was easy, then surely it wouldn’t be worth fighting for, wouldn’t be worth waiting for, wouldn’t mean as much. So I’ll sit back and wait. It’ll come. Patience is a virtue.

Image Link

Leave a Reply

